Ships from: USA

Currency: USD

We ship Worldwide!


3 Feet High And Rising - Yellow 2XLP

De La Soul

In Stock Ships in 2-3 business days
Released Mar 3, 2023

De La Soul - 3 Feet High And Rising - Yellow

Add to Cart

Vinyl Details

Yellow Vinyl

Album Details

3 Feet High and Rising is the debut studio album by hip hop trio de la Soul and was released on March 3, 1989. It marked the first of three full-length collaborations with producer Prince Paul, which would become the critical and commercial peak of both parties. Critically, as well as commercially, the album was a success. It contains the singles, "Me Myself and I", "The Magic Number, " "Buddy, " and "Eye Know". The album title came from the Johnny Cash song "Five Feet High and Rising". It is listed on Rolling Stone's 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums. When Village Voice held it's annual Pazz & Jop Critics Poll for 1989, 3 Feet High and Rising was ranked #1. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone's The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, de la Soul's uniquely positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, "Me, Myself and I". Their positivity meant many observers labeled them a "hippie" group, based on their declaration of the "D.A.I.S.Y. Age" (Da. Inner. Soul. Yall). Sampling artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop (and especially jazz rap).


1 A 1 Intro
2 A 2 the Magic Number
3 A 3 Change in Speak
4 A 4 Cool Breeze on the Rocks (The Melted Version)
5 A 5 Can U Keep a Secret
6 A 6 Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin's Revenge)
7 A 7 Ghetto Thang
8 B 1 Transmitting Live from Mars
9 B 2 Eye Know
10 B 3 Take It Off
11 B 4 a Little Bit of Soap
12 B 5 Tread Water
13 B 6 Potholes in My Lawn
14 C 1 Say No Go
15 C 2 Do As de la Does
16 C 3 Plug Tunin' (Last Chance to Comprehend)
17 C 4 de la Orgee
18 C 5 Buddy (With Jungle Brothers and Q-Tip from a Tribe Called Quest)
19 D 1 Description
20 D 2 Me Myself and I
21 D 3 This Is a Recording 4 Living in a Full Time Era (L.I.F.E.)
22 D 4 I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)
23 D 5 D.A.I.S.Y. Age

All Prices are in USD. © 2019 srcvinyl Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy

Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy

All Prices are in USD. © 2019 srcvinyl Inc. All Rights Reserved.